

Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government

200 E. Main St Lexington, KY 40507

Legislation Text

File #: 0536-23, Version: 1

A Resolution appointing Richard Young, Barbara Jane Sutherland, and William H. Wilson, as Reapportionment Commissioners to serve along with Susan Lamb, Fayette County Clerk, who will be a non-voting member of the Reapportionment Commission; directing said Reapportionment Commissioners to lay off the district boundaries of the districts of the three (3) Fiscal Court Commissioners; three (3) Justices of the Peace (magistrates); and three (3) Constables pursuant to KRS 67.045; providing that the three (3) voting members of the Reapportionment Commission shall be compensated in the amount of \$200 each; and directing the Clerk of the Urban County Council to publish notice of the reapportionment proceedings. [Dept. of Law, Speckert]

Authorization to ratify the Reapportionment Commissioners selected by the Fayette County Fiscal Court to reapportion the districts for county magistrates (justices of the peace), fiscal court commissioners, and constables; and to provide compensation for their service, as required by KRS 67.045 at a cost of \$600. Funds are Budgeted. (L0536-23) (Speckert)

Budgetary Implications: Yes

Advance Document Review:

Law:

Risk Management: No

Fully Budgeted: Yes

Account Number: 1101-112007-0001-71299

This Fiscal Year Impact: \$600.00

Annual Impact:

Project:

Activity:

Budget Reference:

Current Balance: \$600

File #: 0536-23, Version: 1

WHEREAS, KRS 67.045 requires the appointment of Reapportionment Commissioners to lay off the

boundary lines of the districts of the three (3) Fiscal Court Commissioners; three (3) Justices of the

Peace (Magistrates); and three (3) Constables.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE LEXINGTON-FAYETTE

URBAN COUNTY GOVERNMENT:

Section 1 - That Richard Young, Barbara Jane Sutherland, and William H. Wilson be and

hereby are appointed as Reapportionment Commissioners to serve along with Susan Lamb, Fayette

County Clerk, who will be a non-voting member of the Reapportionment Commission.

Section 2 - That the Reapportionment Commission be and hereby is directed to lay off the

district boundaries of the districts of the three (3) Fiscal Court Commissioners; three (3) Justices of

the Peace (Magistrates); and three (3) Constables, pursuant to KRS 67.045.

Section 3 - That an amount, not to exceed the sum of \$200.00 each, be and hereby is

approved for payment to Richard Young, Barbara Jane Sutherland, and William H. Wilson from

account # 1101-112007-0001-71299 for their services as Reapportionment Commissioners.

Section 4 - That the Clerk of the Urban County Council be and hereby is directed to publish

notice of the reapportionment proceedings as required by law.

Section 5 - That this Resolution shall become effective upon its passage.

PASSED URBAN COUNTY COUNCIL:

| | | |
|-----------|--|--|
| MAYOR | | |
| | | |
| | | |

ATTEST:

CLERK OF URBAN COUNTY COUNCIL

0536-23:EPT:X:\Cases\CO\23-LE0001\LEG\00782747.DOC