

Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government

200 E. Main St Lexington, KY 40507

Legislation Text

File #: 1086-15, Version: 2

A Resolution requesting and encouraging the Ky. Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) to designate the speed limit for various sections of streets on the state route system in downtown Lexington-Fayette County as 25 miles per hour. [Council Office, Maynard]

WHEREAS, in 2014, there were approximately 229 collisions involving pedestrians and cyclists with vehicles in Lexington-Fayette County; and

WHEREAS, it has been shown that speed plays a major role in the pedestrian fatality rate in vehicular/pedestrian collisions; and

WHEREAS, the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government has established safety goals regarding the improvement of public health and safety by reducing transportation-related fatalities and injuries across all modes of travel in accordance with the United States Department of Transportation's (USDOT) Strategic Plan for FY 2014-2018; and;

WHEREAS, the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, in collaboration with the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC), is committed to promoting pedestrian safety on the state route system within Lexington-Fayette County.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE LEXINGTON-FAYETTE URBAN COUNTY GOVERNMENT:

Section 1 - That the Council of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government hereby requests and encourages the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) to designate the speed limit as 25 miles per hour on the following East-West state route segments: Bolivar Street between S. BRd.way and S. Upper Street;

Avenue of Champions/Euclid Avenue between S. Upper Street and E. High Street; W. Maxwell Street

File #: 1086-15, Version: 2

between Oliver Lewis Way and S. BRd.way; W. High Street between DeRoode Street and S. BRd.way; Manchester Street between Oliver Lewis Way and Jefferson Street; Vine Street/Midland Avenue between W. Main Street and Loudon Avenue; and Main Street between Oliver Lewis Way and Ashland Avenue.

Section 2 - That the Council of the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government hereby requests and encourages the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC) to designate the speed limit as 25 miles per hour on the following North-South state route segments: Oliver Lewis Way/Newtown Pike between Pine Street and W. Loudon Avenue; BRd.way between Burley Avenue and Loudon Avenue; S. Limestone between Cooper Drive and Avenue of Champions; and Tates Creek Road between Cooper Drive and Sunset Drive.

Section 3 - That the Clerk of the Urban County Council is hereby authorized and directed to send a copy of this Resolution to the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet (KYTC).

Section 4 - That this Resolution shall become effective on the date of its passage.

PASSED URBAN COUNTY COUNCIL:

	MAYOR	
ATTEST:		
CLERK OF URBAN COUNTY COUNCIL		