

Executive Order No. 2019 - 01

An Executive Order establishing the Mayor's Complete Count Committee for the City of Lexington

Whereas,	the Constitution of the United States mandates a headcount every 10 years of everyone residing in the U.S. in all 50 States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas; and
Whereas,	the first Census was conducted in 1790 and it has been conducted every 10 years since then, therefore the next Census will be taken in 2020; and
Whereas,	the federal government uses Census data to make decisions about the level and types of federal funding our community will receive, including the funds for Head Start, public transportation, programs for senior citizens and many other programs.

Now, therefore, I, Linda Gorton, Mayor of the City of Lexington, do hereby order and direct:

- 1. The Mayor's Complete Count Committee for the City of Lexington is hereby created.
- 2. The Committee shall encourage all Lexington residents to complete their Census forms.
- 3. The Committee shall consider the unique characteristics of Lexington and develop strategies to ensure participation in the Census.
- 4. The Committee shall include the following members, Parry Barrows (LFUCG Public Information Office), Nicolas Benrey (US Postal Service), Lane Boldman (Fayette County Neighborhood Council), Lt. Mark Brand (LFUCG Division of Police), Councilmember James Brown (LFUCG Council 1st District), Glenn Brown (LFUCG Office of the CAO), Carrie Butler (Lextran), Craig Cammack (LFUCG Office of the Mayor), Monica Conrad (LFUCG Division of Parks & Recreation), David Cozart (Lexington Leadership Foundation), Andrés Cruz (La Voz), Chris Ford (LFUCG Department of Social Services), Katrina Howard (Lexington-Fayette County Health Department), Councilmember Susan Lamb (LFUCG Council 4th District), Arthur Lucas (LFUCG Diversity & Inclusion Office), Josh Mers (Lexington Fairness), Fred Mitchell (Russell Cave Church of Christ), Megan Moloney (Transylvania University), Patrice Muhammad (Key Newsjournal), Rob Parmley (Lexington Public Library), P.G. Peeples (Urban League of Lexington-Fayette County), Councilmember Jennifer Reynolds (LFUCG Council 11th District), Bridgett Rice (Community Action Council), Mark Royse (Lexington Community Radio), Polly Ruddick (LFUCG Office of Homelessness Prevention and Intervention), Ray Sexton (Lexington-Fayette Urban County Human Rights Commission), Austin Simms (Lexington Housing Authority), Sheila Simpson (Bluegrass Community & Technical College), Kristy Stambaugh (LFUCG Division of Aging & Disability Services), Bradley Stevenson (Child Care Council of Kentucky), Isabel Taylor (LFUCG Global Lex), James Watts (Lexington VA Medical Center), Jim Wims (University of Kentucky), Lindsay Wright (Fayette County Public Schools), Richard Young (CivicLex), Dana Zinger (Commerce Lexington), and such other representatives of our community needed to ensure a complete count of all residents of Lexington-Fayette County.
- 5. The Commission shall target the unique characteristics of the Lexington community to further ensure participation in the Census.

Signed this, the 7th day of March, 2019 Kinda Gorton

MAYOR