

SUSAN B. SPECKERT COMMISSIONER DEPARTMENT OF LAW

TO: Mayor Linda Gorton

Urban County Council

FROM: Department of Law

DATE: May 12, 2023

SUBJECT: Ratification of Reapportionment Commissioners for Fayette County Districts

Request

Request Council ratify the Reapportionment Commissioners selected by the Fayette County Fiscal Court to reapportion the districts for county magistrates (justices of the peace), fiscal court commissioners, and constables; and to provide compensation for their service, as required by KRS 67.045.

Reason for Request

KRS 67.045 requires the appointment of Reapportionment Commissioners to establish the districts for county magistrates (justices of the peace), fiscal court commissioners and constables in the first May following the release of the census data. Due to laws passed in previous legislative sessions, the deadline provided in KRS 67.045 has been pushed back to May 2023. The Reapportionment Committee consists of three voting members and a non-voting member, Susan Lamb, the County Clerk. The Fiscal Court, at a meeting on May 11, 2023, appointed Richard Young, Barbara Jane Sutherland, and William H. Wilson as voting members of the committee. The Urban County Council must ratify these appointments. The voting members are to be paid the sum of \$200 each for their work. This money is fully budgeted.

What is the cost in this budget year and future budget years?

The cost for this FY is: \$600.00 The cost for future FY is: N/A

Are the funds budgeted? Yes

Account number: 1101-112007-0001-71299

File Number:

Director/Commissioner: Speckert

